Advanced search
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:50 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum rules

Do NOT hit "new topic" if you are asking a question. This forum is only for posting detailed writeups about fixes, modifications, and installations. Please place questions in the appropriate tech forum (engine, interior, etc) above.

Page 1 of 2 [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Timing Belt and Waterpump (1999 BD - DOHC)
PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:27 pm 
Mr. Invisible

This timing belt/waterpump maintenance was performed on a 1999 Subaru Legacy GT with the DOHC. This is my first time attempting a timing belt and took me about 4 hours in a garage with a hoist.

Disclaimer: Blah blah.. your fault.. blah blah.. I'm not responsible for anything you do.. blah blah.. and blah!

• Part Numbers
• Part 1: Disassembly
• Part 2: Timing Belt
• Part 3: Cam-Shaft
• Part 4: Waterpump
• Part 5: Timing Belt Installation
• Part 6: Coolant

Part Numbers:
21200AA072 - Thermostat Assembly
21236AA010 - Gasket – Thermostat
21114AA051 - Gasket - Water Pump
21111AA110 – Water pump
13028AA072 – Timing Belt
13033AA042 – Timing Belt Tensioner

Part 1: Disassembly

Disconnect negative battery terminal

This is probably the easiest part. I will not go into much detail with disassembly because if you cannot remove these items without prior mechanical knowledge, you should NOT attempt a timing belt change.

A.) Remove your drive belts/v-belts. There's two, the alternator belt and A/C compressor belt.

B.) Remove radiator fans. There's one bolt on the bottom of both fans, two on the side of each fan and one on the top of each fan. Unclip the two connectors below and remove the fans from the top.

C.) Remove radiator reservoir. There's two screws holding it in place at the top.